AFL

AFL Grand Final 2021: Tickets, start time, entertainment, streaming + all the event info

Austadiums | Friday 24th September 2021
Optus Stadium in Perth will host the 2021 AFL Grand Final
UPDATED

Here's all the information you need to know for the 2021 AFL Grand Final in Perth, including tickets, seating map and the entertainment for the big game between Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs at Optus Stadium.

AFL CEO Gill McLaughlin made the official announcement, locking in sports worst kept secret, with Perth’s 60,000-capacity world-class Optus Stadium to host the showpiece fixture.

It’s the second-successive year the AFL Grand Final has been played outside of Victoria, with last year the first time it had been played away from the game’s heartland, due to the covid situation in Melbourne.

View the 2021 AFL Finals Fixture >

We’ve put together a guide including all the important information you need to know regarding the 2021 AFL Grand Final, from attending the game to how to stream it, and everything in between.

What Date and Time is the AFL Grand Final?

The Grand Final will still be played in its traditional timeslot of the final Saturday of September, which this year is Saturday, September 25. This is despite the AFL scrapping the pre-finals bye, which this year will take place over the weekend between the preliminary finals and Grand Final. Any covid outbreaks in the lead-up to the game could have the game postponed by a week or two. The start time has been confirmed, with the game to kick-off at 5:15pm AWST (7:15pm AEST). Traditionally a 2:30pm kick-off, last year's game at the Gabba was the first played at night-time and the two-hour time difference between Perth and Melbourne means the twilight kick-off will broadcast into the eastern states as a night game for the second year running.

How to get AFL Grand Final tickets

Tickets are now sold-out for the 2021 AFL Grand Final, with the remaining 10,250 tickets sold to the general public in less than 10 minutes, with a staggering 180,000 people in the queue to purchase them. Prior to that, AFL members had their opportunity on September 12, then Melbourne & Western Bulldogs members on the following two days, with 12,000 tickets per competing club. Tickets should be purchased through Ticketmaster only - the official ticketing agent of Optus Stadium.

Buy AFL Grand Final Tickets View Seating Map

Ticket on-sale dates/times:
AFL Members – Sun Sep 12 9:00am
Melbourne Members – Mon Sep 13 9:00am
Bulldogs Members – Tue Sep 14 9:00am
General Public – Thu Sep 16 10:00am

AFL Grand Final ticket pricing

The cheapest tickets remain at $185, while premium tickets are $450. There will also be official re-sellers offering tickets at much higher prices, which usually include pre or post-game hospitality, while the most expensive corporate boxes will cost as much as $3600 per seat.

GRAND FINAL Adult Concession
CATEGORY 1 $450.00 $383.00
CATEGORY 2 $405.00 $344.00
CATEGORY 3 $375.00 $319.00
CATEGORY 4 $330.00 $281.00
CATEGORY 5 $275.00 $234.00
CATEGORY 6 $185.00 $157.00

View the Optus Stadium seating map >

What’s the capacity of Optus Stadium?

Optus Stadium is listed as having a seating capacity of 60,000, however the stadium's website says it can hold 61,266 fans for the Grand Final. With no restrictions in Perth, it means the stadium will be packed to the rafters for the big game after all tickets quickly sold out. The record crowd at Optus Stadium is 61,241 for the Bledisloe Cup in 2019 – the capacity was boosted with the use of temporary grandstands on the field. The record crowd for an AFL game stands at 59,608 for the 2018 preliminary final between the West Coast Eagles and Melbourne.


How to watch the Grand Final + Live Streaming

Channel 7 has exclusive rights to televise the AFL Grand Final in Australia live & free and will broadcast the game nationally on 7 and 7HD, with coverage from 6:15pm. If you’re used to watching AFL ad-free on Fox Footy, you’re out of luck due to broadcast restrictions for the Grand Final, so you’ll need to tune into channel 107 (or 207 for HD) to watch the game on Foxtel. Fox Footy will show a replay of the Grand Final afterwards.

If you stream AFL games live on Kayo Sports, unfortunately they are also unable to live stream the Grand Final due to the same restrictions, but will have it available on-demand from 11:15pm. You also cannot live stream the game on the AFL App for the first time. You can however still stream the game live – see below for details.

Can I stream the AFL Grand Final on 7 Plus?
Yes, you can live stream the AFL Grand Final for free on the 7plus App (in 720p HD) – but only on a compatible TV, set-top-box, or gaming console. These include Apple TV, Google TV, Samsung TV’s, TV’s with the Android OS, Fetch TV, Telstra TV and PlayStation 4/5. You cannot stream the Grand Final on the 7plus mobile app, meaning you cannot Chromecast or AirPlay the coverage from your mobile device to a TV. See here for more information. And remember, when streaming live sport, you’ll be watching it on a slight delay.

If you live outside of Australia, you can stream the AFL Grand Final live on WatchAFL, the official international streaming service of the AFL, and with the mobile App, you can cast or airplay the match onto your TV. You could also try using a VPN if you have no other watch to watch the game.

Find out more about how to watch the Grand Final & the schedule in our extensive guide >

AFL Grand Final Entertainment 2021

An all-Australian line-up will perform at the 2021 AFL Grand Final at Optus Stadium. Hometown favourites and popular contemporary rock band Birds of Tokyo will perform during the Grand Final Half Time Show, alongside the West Australian Symphony Orchestra, with a spectacular performance under lights set to entertain fans.

The Pre-Match Show will feature a host of local Western Australian artists including alternative singer-songwriter John Butler, Fremantle’s ARIA-award winning alternative rock band Eskimo Joe, guitar-slinging multi-award-winning artist Abbe May, critically acclaimed musician Stella Donnelly, multi-award-winning duo Gina Williams and Guy Ghouse and sisters Donna Simpson and Vikki Thorn from much-loved Australian Folk-Rock group The Waifs.

Men at Work’s lead singer and successful solo artist Colin Hay will also feature in the AFL Pre-Match Show as well as proud Yolngu man, rapper and Young Australian of the Year, Danzal Baker OAM- known as Baker Boy. In addition, September favourite Mike Brady AM will conduct a special performance of 'Up There Cazaly' remotely from Melbourne.

AFL Grand Final Running Sheet

The AFL has advised the key points on the match day running sheet for the 2021 Toyota AFL Grand Final are as follows:

Time Activity
4:22pm WST / 6:22pm EST Welcome to Country
Dr Richard Walley
4:29pm WST / 6:29pm EST AFL Pre-Match Entertainment Performance
Abbe May
Baker Boy
John Butler, Stella Donnelly, Vikki Thorn, Donna Simpson, Gina Williams and Guy Ghouse
Eskimo Joe
Colin Hay and all performers
4:46pm WST / 6:46pm EST AFL Pre-Match Entertainment Concludes
4:50pm WST / 6:50pm EST Sponsor activation
4:55pm WST / 6:55pm EST Umpires enter arena / Delivery of match footballs to Umpires
4:58pm WST / 6:58pm EST Western Bulldogs enter arena / Team photo
5:01pm WST / 7:05pm EST Melbourne enter arena / Team photo
5:10pm WST / 7:10pm EST Premiership Cup Arrival – Glen Jakovich delivers Premiership Cup to Presenters Garry Lyon and Chris Grant (team line up)
5:11pm WST / 7:11pm EST National Anthem, Amy Manford
5:13pm WST / 7:13pm EST Two Sirens – Toss of Coin
5:15pm WST / 7:15pm EST 2021 Toyota AFL Grand Final Commences
  Timings below are approx.
5:45pm WST / 7:45pm EST Quarter Time
5:46pm WST / 7:46pm EST Grand Final Sprint
5:51pm WST / 7:51pm EST Second Quarter Commences
6:21pm WST / 8:21pm EST Half Time
6:29pm WST / 8:29pm EST AFL Half Time Entertainment Performance – Birds of Tokyo accompanied by WA Symphony Orchestra
6:48pm WST / 8:48pm EST Third Quarter Commences
7:18pm WST / 9:18pm EST Three Quarter Time
7:25pm WST / 9:25pm EST Fourth Quarter Commences
7:55pm WST / 9:55pm EST Final Siren - 2021 Toyota AFL Grand Final Concludes
8:06pm WST / 10:06pm EST Post-Match Presentation / Team Photo

 
Who will present the premiership cup & medals?

If Melbourne win the Grand Final, Garry Lyon will present the 2021 AFL Premiership Cup, while Chris Grant will present it if the Bulldogs win. WA royalty will be present at the 2021 Toyota AFL Grand Final, with Andrew Embley to present the Norm Smith Medal to the player judged best on ground in this year’s Grand Final and John Worsfold to present the Jock McHale Medal to this year’s Premiership Coach.

Perth Accommodation near Optus Stadium

If you’re travelling to Perth for the Grand Final and looking for somewhere to stay, there are many options to choose from. Austadiums, together with our official travel partners, have put together a map of Optus Stadium and the nearby area with available hotels (including Wotif and booking.com) as well as short term rentals through Stayz, all available to book right now at the lowest prices. View the map here >

Can interstate fans attend?

Western Australia has tough border controls, but it’s still possible for some interstate fans to attend the 2021 AFL Grand Final, in line with Covid conditions. In short, if you're from Victoria or NSW, you cannot attend unless you receive permission from the WA government to enter the state and then undertake a mandatory 14-day hotel quarantine period at your own expense, meaning you needed to arrive in WA by September 11. Fans from South Australia, Tasmania and the Northern Territory are currently permitted entry to WA, while Queenslanders remains low-risk. You should check the WA government website for the latest advice.

AFL Grand Final Teams 2021

MELBOURNE

B: M.Hibberd, S.May, J.Lever
HB: T.Rivers, H.Petty, C.Salem
C: A.Brayshaw, C.Petracca, E.Langdon
HF: A.Neal-Bullen, T.McDonald, T.Sparrow
F: C.Spargo, B.Brown, B.Fritsch
FOLL: M.Gawn, C.Oliver, J.Viney
I/C: J.Harmes, L.Jackson, J.Bowey, K.Pickett

EMG: J.Melksham, J.Jordon, J.Hunt, K.Chandler
IN: Nil
OUT: J.Jordon (sub)

WESTERN BULLDOGS

B: E.Wood, A.Keath, B.Williams
HB: C.Daniel, Z.Cordy, B.Dale
C: B.Smith, T.Liberatore, L.Hunter
HF: C.Weightman, A.Naughton, A.Treloar
F: J.Schache, T.English, M.Hannan
FOLL: S.Martin, J.Macrae, M.Bontempelli
I/C: J.Johannisen, J.Dunkley, T.Duryea, R.Smith

EMG: L.Vandermeer, E.Richards, A.Scott, R.Gardner
IN: A.Keath, C.Weightman
OUT: R.Gardner (omitted), A.Scott (sub), L.Vandermeer (omitted)

Past AFL Grand Final winners & crowds

Over the past six years, the AFL premiership has been won by four different clubs, with Richmond claiming it on three occasions, including most recently in 2019 and 2020. The last Grand Final away from the MCG was won by Hawthorn in 1991, while Essendon and Carlton have won the most premierships with 16 each, followed by Collingwood with 15. In the five years prior to 2020 when the Grand Final was played at the MCG, the average attendance was 99,734.

YEAR EVENT VENUE CROWD
2020 AFL Grand Final: Richmond d Geelong Gabba 29,707*
2019 AFL Grand Final: Richmond d GWS Giants MCG 100,014
2018 AFL Grand Final: West Coast Eagles d Collingwood MCG 100,022
2017 AFL Grand Final: Richmond d Adelaide MCG 100,021
2016 AFL Grand Final: Western Bulldogs d Sydney Swans MCG 99,981
2015 AFL Grand Final: Hawthorn d West Coast MCG 98,633
Optus StadiumAFL

More News

STADIUMS

AUS CAPITAL TERRITORY Canberra
NEW SOUTH WALES Sydney Newcastle
NORTHERN TERRITORY Darwin
QUEENSLAND Brisbane Gold Coast
SOUTH AUSTRALIA Adelaide
TASMANIA Hobart Launceston
VICTORIA Melbourne Geelong
WESTERN AUSTRALIA Perth
NEW ZEALAND Wellington Auckland

SPORT

AUS FOOTBALL AFL AFLW P/S
RUGBY LEAGUE NRL Trials
FOOTBALL A-League W-League FFA Cup
BASKETBALL NBL WNBL
RUGBY UNION Super Rugby NRC
CRICKET Tests ODI's BBL Sheffield ODD
BASEBALL ABL
GOLF HORSE RACING MOTOR SPORT NETBALL TENNIS OTHER SPORTS
Here's all the information you need to know for the 2021 AFL Grand Final in Perth, including tickets, seating map and the entertainment for the big game between Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs at Optus Stadium.
The Austadiums website is made possible by displaying some advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker, whitelist us, or you can donate to us here.