Ikon Park Reviews




 

Stadium Reviews are currently unavailable.

Rating                        (18 Votes)
Facilities:
 (56%)
Viewing:
 (76%)
Access:
 (64%)
Overall:
 (65%)


Reviews
V.F.L. Fan 01 » Sun 18th May 2014
First of all this review is mainly me being being pissed off about not much A.F.L. Venues in Melbourne. It is a shame they don't use Princess Park any more as an A.F.L. venue. I never got to see Carlton play an official A.F.L. game. The closest thing i ever got was a pre-season match a couple years ago and if Northern Blues play against Casey in the V.F.L (V.F.A.) 27,000 seats may not be be good enough for an A.F.L. Venue for today but Melbourne has the most teams and they have to share the M.C.G. and Docklands Stadium leading to more bys and away games. As Geelong and the non- Victorian teams have their own stadium for home games. Melbourne needs a 3rd A.F.L venue desperately and the only two stadiums that are big enough are Princess Park and Victoria Park. The only problem that Princess Park really had was the transport. because there wasn't train line going through Carlton, you had to get a whole pack tram to Royal Parade. When The V.F.L. become national and became the A.F.L, it changed and killed the game for Victoria,in my opinion.
Facilities:
Viewing:
Access:
Overall:
Orel Puppington » Sat 17th May 2014
If the AFL want to make Princes Park a 3rd Melbourne Stadium, they better improve transport access. The Tram route 19 goes right past the oval, but poor on road priority combined with too smaller trams wipes that out as a option for getting there. Royal Park Station is too far away unless if your fit to walk over a kilometer. They really need to rebuild the old Inner Circle railway line with a station nearby to service the ground. Proud old ground with heaps of history and back in the hey-day of the 90's was a favorite ground for clubs that weren't doing good financially. That Legends stand was pretty poorly planned when built and there is no lights or a video screen!!! I would like to see AFL games here again but they need to replace the Heroes stand as it looks ugly. Overall great old fashioned ground with hopefully a good future.
Facilities:
Viewing:
Access:
Overall:
bort » Sat 19th November 2011
Still feels magic. Jumped the fence last summer and went in for a nose around. They need to play football here again.
Facilities:
Viewing:
Access:
Overall:
Car crash » Sun 29th August 2010
the hay day is officaly over
Facilities:
Viewing:
Access:
Overall:
jim18 » Sat 27th February 2010
Great stands that would be suitable for AFL however the facilities are terrible. If AFL was ever played there again they would need a lot of work done
Facilities:
Viewing:
Access:
Overall:
For_FCs_Sake » Fri 6th March 2009
It was the best of the suburban afl grounds. rubbish facilities and i remember queuing up there endlessly and crammed into the tram after. I always seemed to get rained on when I went there.
Facilities:
Viewing:
Access:
Overall:
krusej » Mon 27th October 2008
I believe Princes Park should still be used as a venue for the "lower drawing" games (e.g. Western Bulldogs vs Fremantle or Melbourne vs Port Adelaide etc.) Has a nice feel to it and seems a shame it's no longer used as an AFL venue.
Facilities:
Viewing:
Access:
Overall:
James17 » Wed 8th October 2008
great ground, was great to go watch the mighty blues play here. will be even better once the redevelopments are finshed. GO BLUES!!!
Facilities:
Viewing:
Access:
Overall:
christaman » Fri 18th April 2008
Nice ground. Its a shame that no more afl is played here though.
Facilities:
Viewing:
Access:
Overall:
cam » Sat 11th March 2006
Now that Carlton have moved their home games away elsewhere, unfortunately this ground will get worse and worse in future years as the club can't afford to maintain it. Being the last surburban AFL ground in Melbourne, I would have loved the Blues to remain at the ground. It's a good medium-sized venue with good viewing.
Facilities:
Viewing:
Access:
Overall:

The views expressed in stadium reviews & ratings are those of the author only, not Austadiums.

 

AUSTRALIAN STADIUMS & SPORT
www.austadiums.com

STADIUMS
View Stadiums

Redevelopments
Former/Proposed Stadiums
Seating Maps
Highest Rated
Stadium News

SPORT
Austadiums Sport
Events
Results
Crowds
Sports News

INTERACT
Forum
Facebook
Twitter - @austadiums
Twitter - @au_sport
Instagram
Newsletter

WEBSITE
About Austadiums
Mobile Site
Site Map
Terms & Conditions
Privacy Policy
Contact Us

© Copyright 1999-2019 Austadiums - All rights reserved.

CV Media