Queenborough Oval is located on the corner of Nelson Road and Peel St, Sandy Bay - about 5 km's South of Hobart CBD. It is nestled in amongst stately old world mansions and parkland and overlooks the modern Wrest Point Casino complex.
The ground was the home for over 50 years to the now-defunct Sandy Bay Football Club in the old Tasmanian Football League.
Queenborough Oval was a former graveyard up until it was transformed into a football ground in the 1890's - there are still headstones outside the stadium across the road. The ground has one small concrete stand (Graham Mackay Stand) on the southern wing and has a pavilion next to it.
There are large terraces surrounding the ground from the
It is a small and much maligned stadium that was a great little ground for TFL football, but its days as a top-level ground were numbered as far back as 1982 with respect to its poor facilities, generally quagmire ground conditions and extremely difficult access.
The ground is currently used (and owned) by The Hutchins School, and the Hutchins Old Scholars team play there in the OSFA, the ground also hosts finals in that competition.
Queenborough also hosts cricket during summer, being home of the South Hobart-Sandy Bay Sharks in the TCA Competition.