Ballymore Stadium

Ballymore Stadium is the home of Rugby Union in Queensland and has a capacity of 18,000. It became headquarters of the Queensland Rugby Union in 1966, when the first game, a club match between Teachers and Wests, was played. The QRU moved into Ballymore in February 1967.

On Sunday, 21 April, 1968 Ballymore's grandstand (named the McLean Stand in 1980) was officially opened. The Eastern Stand (now Bank of Qld stand) was officially opened on 21 June 1992, increasing the capacity to 24,000. The lights were turned on at Ballymore for the first time in 1994 introducing night rugby to spectators. The record crowd at Ballymore was set in 1993 when Australia defeated South Africa. The capacity of the venue is now 18,000 following the installation of seats below the Eastern Stand. The Queensland Reds now play their home games at the larger Suncorp Stadium but still use Ballymore as their training and administrative base.

Ballymore is set to be redeveloped into a high-performance hub, with both grandstands demolished and replaced by a new building which will include seating for 3,000 fans and a total capacity of 10-12,000.

Ballymore Stadium Details

Clyde Road, Herston  
Record Crowd
26,000 - Australia v South Africa, 1993
Highest Crowd since 2003
20,097 - 26/02/05: S12: Reds v Hurricanes  
Arena Roof
Video Screen
Ticket Agent
Ticketek BUY TICKETS  
Sports Played
Rugby Union
Home Teams
Last Event
Next Event
Coming from the western or southern suburbs, the only access will be via Herston, Scott and Clyde Road.
Public transport is available to the ground via buses.
Limited parking available at the ground. The QRU provide a free shuttle bus service every 15 minutes to and from the Royal Brisbane Hospital car park, cnr of Bowen Bridge Road and Butterfield St.
See nearby Ballymore Stadium hotels and more. VIEW ACCOMMODATION
More News

Related News