2020 NRL Draw revealed, Raiders to play historic double-header

Austadiums   |  Wednesday 30th October 2019

The National Rugby League has released its 2020 Draw, with the return of Magic Round and one match to feature as a double-header with a rival sporting code in New Zealand.

Next year will see the mid-season closure of ANZ Stadium as its major redevelopment gets underway, Cronulla’s Shark Park out of action and the on-going rebuild of Allianz Stadium. The NRL said the draw delivers more regional games and fewer five-day turnarounds in a fan-friendly schedule which was announced on Tuesday.

In what is believed to be a first in Australian sport, Rugby League and Rugby Union will team up for a double-header at Auckland’s Eden Park on Saturday March 21. The NZ Warriors will host the Canberra Raiders first up at 5pm, followed by a Super Rugby match between the Auckland Blues and ACT Brumbies at the 50,000-capacity stadium.

Reigning premiers Sydney Roosters will start their campaign at Penrith against the Panthers, and they go into the new season as clear favourites at $4, followed by the Melbourne Storm at $6 and the Raiders at $7 – and you can get a palmerbet promo code to back your favourite for the new season.

The stadium redevelopments across Sydney resulted in 314 dates being "blocked out" before a final schedule was circulated to NRL clubs and key stakeholders late in the week leading up to the fixture announcement.

12/03/20 8:05 PM NRL: Eels v Bulldogs Bankwest Stadium
13/03/20 6:00 PM NRL: Raiders v Titans GIO Stadium
13/03/20 7:05 PM NRL: Cowboys v Broncos North Queensland Stadium
14/03/20 3:00 PM NRL: Knights v Warriors McDonald Jones Stadium
14/03/20 5:30 PM NRL: Rabbitohs v Sharks ANZ Stadium
14/03/20 7:35 PM NRL: Panthers v Roosters Panthers Stadium
15/03/20 4:05 PM NRL: Sea Eagles v Storm Lottoland Stadium
15/03/20 6:15 PM NRL: Dragons v Wests Tigers WIN Stadium


Magic Round will return after a successful first year in 2019, with all eight games in round eight to be played at Brisbane’s Suncorp Stadium, starting with the Wests Tigers v Cronulla Sharks on May 1.

Eight NRL games will be played in regional areas during the 2020 season, with games to be played at Central Coast Stadium, Sunshine Coast Stadium, Scully Park (Tamworth), McDonalds Park (Wagga Wagga) and Carrington Park (Bathurst).

Games will again be held away from traditional markets, with matches to be held at HBF Park (Perth), TIO Stadium (Darwin), Sky Stadium (Wellington) and Christchurch Stadium.

State of Origin will be played at Adelaide Oval for the first time, with game one on June 3, followed by the final Origin game at ANZ Stadium before its redevelopment, then Suncorp Stadium for game three. Meanwhile, the Women’s State of Origin will be played at Sunshine Coast Stadium for the first time.

The 2020 NRL Grand Final will be played on Sunday, October 4, at the Sydney Cricket Ground – the first away from ANZ Stadium since the Homebush venue opened in 1999.

The full 2020 NRL Season Draw is now available on Austadiums – you can view matches throughout the site via the sports section or the various venues, together with all other major sporting events in Australia. View all the stadium info and seating maps, get tickets and view and book nearby accommodation at the lowest prices and get directions to the venues.


More News